Articles With Interview Tips: Reflection
Interviewing can be so nerve racking. You know that you would be a great asset to their company, you have all the skills and more, and you know you could be a good fit for the company. But then after you leave your interview you’re thinking of all the things you should have said and should have done differently. You question and doubt yourself. After reading articles, “Only Seven Seconds to Ace an Interview” written by Anna Pitts and “How To Ace The 50 Most Common Interview Questions” by Jacquelyn Smith, I will definitely feel better about the next time I go into an interview.
         

Your face says a lot about you. How many times have you seen someone with a mean face but when you finally talk to them they are the sweetest person. Your expression says more than words in a matter of seconds. That being said, during an interview it is important smile. You don’t want to look fake and cheesy, but come across as sincere and real. You want to be warm and outgoing while bragging to your future employer about how qualified you are for the position. The second part of your initial introduction, is your handshake. It is “the universal signal of professionalism, politeness, and confidence” says Anna Pitts. You want to present your employer a firm but not deadly handshake. Also if there are multiple interviewers or other employees sitting in on your interview, you want to shake everyone in the room’s hand. You do not want to just acknowledge the main interviewer, acknowledge everyone. When introducing yourself, say a little something like, “Hi, I’m Melissa,” (they’ll introduce themselves,) follow with a “Lovely, to meet you.” From here on out you, as the interviewee need to speak clearly. This is so important. There is no point to introduce yourself or talk yourself up if they can’t understand you. Try to speak in a confident way making sure what you say is “relevant and appropriate; and give good information as possible”. Lastly, and most importantly, maintain eye contact and sit when invited to be seated. Employers “perceive you as shifty, nervous or rude when you don’t make eye contact”. You do not want to seem creepy so, usually holding eye contact for about three seconds is appropriate. The best tip in this article I thought was about when to sit down. It’s something you wouldn’t or usually think about. “[You don’t want to] just walk straight in and plonk yourself in front of them it will appear rude and hasty.” Therefore, sit down when invited to do so.

 While providing 50 most asked interview questions, “How To Ace The 50 Most Common Interview Questions” gives plenty of other useful information. My mother always stresses to do your research before you go into any job that you are interviewing for. This article also stress’ how important it is to do your homework on the company and the position you are. Any future employee should go online and look up the company’s’ mission, read articles and latest releases on their public relations tab. Study them so that you can talk in the interview about what’s going on with the company now. They might even ask you for your ideas, what you would change, or how to fix a problem going on with their company. Personally, every job I ever interviewed for has asked me questions about the responsibilities and roles I would be in charge of. They wanted to know if I really knew what position I was going for. For my Community Assistant job at Kutztown University they asked me what policy I would want to change if I could, how could I improve the position or how I would be an asset to the Housing and Residence Life. All these questions required me to do a little background research. If I didn’t read up on the responsibilities (which is a long list of duties) I would have looked like a fool trying to come up with mediocre roles I’d be in charge of.

During your interview you also want to keep in mind that “it isn’t always about you” (Miriam Salpeter). You will definitely be asked the basics interview questions like, “What are your strengths?” or “Why should we hire you?”, but the “most successful interview responses focus on the hiring manager’s needs” (Smith). If you show that you understand the company’s problems, and describe how you could be an asset and improve the company “it makes a difference when competing with many other qualified candidates” (Smith). For my class we needed to preform a mock interview with a friend. During questions like these I found it hard to come up with a good answer focusing on the company. Knowing this now, I will do research on the company and take the time to think about potential answers prior to the interview so I can ace that question.

 I was also unaware until reading this article that “many organizations are using behavioral interview questions to better understand what you have done,” They usually begin with, ‘Tell me about a time when…’” they wanna know how you handled the situation; and what the result was,” (Smith). Now, you would think people would lie and say they did the morally right thing during a situation but sometimes they do not. Being an active member Delta Zeta Sorority, when recruiting potential new members we are basically conducting an interview to know if you are worthy of our time, sisterhood, love, and attention. When asked why they are not involved on campus, how they handled certain situations, or why they want to join greek life, etc; they don’t always give the right answer. Although they are being honest, sometimes we hear the most bizarre and unpleasing responses that write them off our list automatically. So when reading that organizations are using behavioral interview questions I was surprised, but it is actually really smart of companies to do this. 

How to ace an Interview in 7 Seconds
How To Ace The 50 Most Common Interview Questions

 

 

My First Grad School Fair Experience

Part of my requirements being in my Writing For The Workplace class is to attend workshops and events sponsored by the Career Development Center at my college. Although, it is a pain to take time out of my already packed schedule it is a good thing that we are “forced” to go. I appreciate the resources they provide that don’t get utilized enough from students. I have been to a few events because another organization on campus that I’m part of use to make us attend events. Even though I would dread going to the events, I always came back with lots of resources and knowledge that I didn’t know before. This past week I attended the Grad School Fair in the Student Union Building. I went in with an open mind because I really don’t think I want to go to grad school but I browsed all the colleges anyway. It was cool to see how many colleges offered my field of interest. I picked up flyers and brochures with anything related to  communication, media studies and production, business management, and business marketing. I did not know what field I should be looking for since I would be graduating with a bachelors in Business Marketing and a minor in Electronic Media and Sociology. I spent a good amount of time talking to a woman from Temple discussing what I should focus on if I were to go to grad school and she suggested Communication Management. What I did not like about the Grad School Fair is that all the resource tables were Pennsylvania based schools. I am from New Jersey so if I was to attend grad school I would want to be instate because it would be cheaper for me. We have students from all over the country because of sports, scholarships, etc, so it would have been nice if there was a resource table with someone you could discuss your ideal grad school location and have them have some resource/website to help you research.

While I was there I stopped by the Career Development Center table and picked up a bunch of flyers, and their calendars. The young woman working the table gave me information about how you can apply to be a grad student-which the school would pay for my extra schooling. I would need to go through interviews and what not to score an opportunity like that. She also informed me that I could get a Career Success Certificate by completing the program. I already earned their Career Exploration Certificate so this is the next one up that I can get. I already have to attend a bunch of these events so I might as well go to the ones that would help me gain this certificate. Overall, it was a good learning experience. I met and networked with many helpful individuals who tried to guide me in the right direction. I now have a better feel for my options after graduation, possible opportunities and internships, I have new resources, and many pens.

Leave a Reply

